Products I regret buying: 2013

Hey everyone! So as it’s now 2014, I thought I would take a look at all of the products that I’ve bought in 2013 and tell you about the ones wished I hadn’t bothered with!

lash potion

Revlon Lash Potion (£9.99)

Revlon are NOTORIOUS for having terrible mascaras! I bought this product on a whim, as Revlon make one of my favourite foundations (Colourstay) so I thought I would give them a chance! The packaging is really pretty, and the brush looks quite promising, but the outcome is just so disappointing. It’s just a very average mascara which doesn’t really enhance the volume, length or curl of your lashes, neither does it make them grow or make them stronger. The brush is very hard which is quite painful but you push the brush into the bed of your lashes, and actually made my eyes water quite a bit! Also, the tube has a MASSIVE opening at the end, leaving the brush with far too much product left on the brush, making it quite messy and hard to control.

3d volume

Revlon 3D Volume Mascara (£10.99)

This one is a fault on my part as I just couldn’t believe that Revlon weren’t amazing at everything, so I decided to give them another chance with this mascara. It’s just so so disappointing! It is slightly better than the Lash Potion, and it did give a bit of volume and curl, but no length. Again, the opening at the end is far too wide, leaving the brush loaded with mascara creating a horrible messy clumped look. The brush slightly resembles the They’re Real! brush by Benefit, leading me to believe I was going to be blown away. Oh how I was wrong! I just don’t know what it is with Revlon, but they’re mascaras are let-downs and are not worth the money!

skinlights

Revlon Photoready Skinlights in Pink Light (£11.99)

Ohhh Revlon! You’ve made me so sad this past year! I bought this as I really wanted to try a coloured liquid highlighter, and on the back of my hand this looked like a lovely delicate light pink shade. On the face it’s a totally different story! It looks very sickly sweet, almost a barbie pink and is very noticeable! It was not the subtle glowing pink I expected. Not only that, it takes off your foundation and fades through the day and is just very disappointing. Perhaps the nude or bronze colours would be better, I just really wasn’t a fan of this on top of my blush!

image (2)

L’oreal Lumi Magique Pure Light Primer (£9.99)

So I went through a phase where I thought my skin was dull and boring and I really wanted a dewy, glowing complexion. I bought this on a whim without really looking in to it, which is entirely my own fault. This seems as though it would be lovely if you had dry skin, but as i have oily skin it just turned my foundation to sludge! I found that it didn’t really add a glow to my face when I used it as a primer, but can be quite nice and a highlighter. With this product less is more and you literally need a tiny blob for your whole face, and it quite nice on paler skins as it dries translucent.

macstudiosculpt

Mac Studio Sculpt Foundation (£24)

Sorry for not having my own picture, but I actually threw this product out. I can’t even express how sad I was about this foundation. This was definitely the fault of the mua who tried this foundation out on me. I told her my skin was oily and gets progressively worse throughout the day, and she suggested this foundation, telling me it was gel-based so it wouldn’t add to the oily mess that my face can end up in. She tried it out of my face and I loved the coverage and the satin finish, and thought that I had found a foundation that finally was a satin finish and suitable for oily skin. I purchased it on the spot, putting a lot of faith in the girl would had recommended it for me. After wearing it for a few days I just knew this product was awful for me. It turned very oily and sludgy within an hour of application, even with quite a lot of powder on top, and just rubbed off on to everything – my hands, my clothes, literally everything! I’m sure, again, that this would be really nice and hydrating for dry skin, but if you have oily skin you’re much better off trying Studio Fix. The moral of the story is don’t buy a product without seeing how it wears on your skin!

baby stick

Revlon Baby Stick in Tahitian (£6.99)

 Revlon you break my heart. I was attracted to this as the colour was really nice, and the packaging is just so adorable! I was expecting it to be on par with their Just Bitten balm stain, which I think is AMAZING, but again it completely left me flat. As you can see from the picture above, there is almost NO colour pay off! You really have to rub a lot of product on your cheek to get any form of colour, and even then its not bright or eye catching. It rubs off your foundation and leaves the cheeks almost sticky. On the lips its no better. Again there is no colour pay off and it is very drying on the lips, which I found surprising due to how moisturising the balm stains are! I have read reviews saying that the brighter colours are slightly more pigmented, but I honestly wouldn’t even waste my time trying another. You’re much better off buying a separate balm stain and Revlon powder blush, as the colour pay off is much better and extremely buildable.

So the moral of the story is don’t make impulse buys! If you see a product that you’re interested in, definitely go home and do your research first. It saves you a lot of money and prevents poor lonely unused products rolling around in the bottom of your make up bag!

Thanks for reading!

– Em x

3 thoughts on “Products I regret buying: 2013

  1. I had the same experience with that MAC foundation a few years back! It is the only MAC foundation I’ve tried so it kind of turned me off all of them… Loved reading this to see what to avoid.

Leave a Reply

