Nails of the day – Wintery glitter!

Hey everyone! So I work in a restaurant, and we’re not allowed to wear nail polish just in case it chips into customers food etcetera, which means I never get to play with my nails and try out and wear fun designs, sad face :(. This also means I am NO expert whenΒ it comes to nails – to be honest I’m pretty awful at them! But today I decided to go for it anyway and try something different.

IMG_2224

So I used Barry M’s Gelly hi-shine nail paint that I mentioned in a previous post, its honestly the best drug store nail polish I’ve ever used! This colour was bought for me by my best friend for Christmas. It’s called Plum which I think is really cute, and I don’t know why but if I don’t like the name of a colour I won’t use it. Weird, right?

photo 2 (3)

photo 1 (3)

IMG_2225

IMG_2229

So what I did was just paint two coats of Plum on to my nails and let it dry. I then put Rimmel Pro Super Wear Ultra Shine topcoat on all of my nails, but to be honest you really don’t a top coat with this polish, it’s incredibly shiny and long-lasting on its own. Then while the top coat was still wet, I dipped my ring finger 3/4 of the way into a small pot of black nail glitter. The one I used was just a really cheap one I had lying around, but you can purchase nail glitter everywhere and I’m sure you can use regular arts and crafts glitter as well. I then brushed off the excess with a little brush that came with the glitter, but you can use a cotton bud instead of brush if you don’t have one. And there we have it! It’s really simple and easy, and trust me, if I can do it, you DEFINITELY can. I wanted a wintery look, hence I used the dark nail polish and the dark glitter, but if you want it to be more noticeable and bright, simply change up to a brighter/lighter nail polish or glitter!

Thanks for reading!

– Em x

Leave a Reply

