The BEST foundations for oily skin!

Hey everyone! Today I thought I would give you a run down of the best foundations for oily skin! I have acne prone oily skin and these foundations are all holy grail products, after years of having a make up that doesn’t last all day, or a shiny face, or exposed spots and scars. They’re all medium to high coverage, but can be made lighter with less product and lots of blending. I used the expert face brush by Real Techniques with all of these foundations.

300

Beautifully Matte – No7 (£12.50)

So I’m quite lucky to have a friend who works in Boots on the No7 counter, and she always has new products for me to test out! She knew I had oily skin and liked quite a full coverage, so she suggested this foundation to me, and I’m really glad she did! The coverage is incredible, and I don’t really need to use concealer with it! It’s incredibly soft to the touch once it’s dried on your face, and stays matte all day long. The only tricky thing with this foundation is it dries super quick, so I would suggest to apply it in quadrants.

i-estee-lauder-double-wear-stay-in-place-spf10-podklad-w-plynie-01-fresco-30-ml

Double Wear – Estee Lauder (£27.50)

This is more of a semi-matte finish, but I really like the glowy finish it leaves on my skin. This one is more of a medium coverage, but again is very buildable. It’s a really nice formula that blends easily, but it has a really strange smell about it which reminds me of wall paint! Not the most pleasant of smells, but it fades as soon as it’s dried on your skin. This one requires a little bit of touching up through the day, but other than that it’s really good and stays on your skin all day.

colorstaybuff.jpg450

Colorstay – Revlon (£12.49)

This is my number one, go to, everyday holy grail foundation! It’s absolutely incredible and I don’t actually think I have a bad word to say about it. It’s a medium/high coverage and is very buildable, dries very smoothly on the skin, is transfer resistant and last all day without touch ups. It covers blemishes very easily and the shade Buff is a perfect match for my skin. It stays completely matte and is an absolute steal at £12.49. The only thing I can think of to improve this foundation would be to add a pump to the bottle to make application a little less messy, and to allow you to control the amount of product you use.

I think my many, many, MANY foundation purchases over the years has given me a fair idea of what foundations are worth the money, and it just goes to show that you don’t need to go high-end to get a good, quality foundation for oily skin! The best way to enhance your foundation is to use a primer underneath, and a powder on top to set it in place.

Thanks for reading!

– Em x

7 thoughts on “The BEST foundations for oily skin!

  1. Thanks for the review! I actually work for Estée Lauder and have the same skin type as you! I’m interested in the Revlon since you like it so much. Is it as long wearing as Double Wear? What primers do you like? You should def try Urban Decay’s all nighter setting spray as well 🙂

    Xoxo Kristen

    • No problem! Colorstay is really long wearing, it’s the best drugstore foundation I’ve tried. In my opinion, it’s a little longer lasting than doublewear! I really like Benefits Porefessional primer, as well as Smashboxes original primer. Ooooh that sounds interesting, I’ll have to give it a try! xx

Leave a Reply

