Benefit They’re Real! eyeliner review!

As some of you may know, I had a short stint working for Benefit during the summer which was right around the launch of their new and much raved about They’re Real! eyeliner to go hand in hand with their supper famous They’re Real! mascara, so I was given an eyeliner pen for training purposes. This product is a jet black matte gel formula in a pen, which is the first of its kind on the market. It claims to be so easy to use that you can apply it in a moving car! It has a specially designed aquaflex tip that is said to push eyelashes out of the way to create a natural and defined look.

image (20)

image (21)

This eyeliner is extremely pigmented and is most definitely a very matte black, but I really did not find it any easier to apply that my regular Rimmel liquid eyeliner. The shape of the nib on the pen can make it a bit tricky to get into the inner corner of your eyes, and its pretty much impossible for me to get a thin line (not that thats a problem – I rarely wear thin eyeliner!). I also find that is hard to build the eyeliner up, as once its dry (and it dries really quickly) it sort of flakes off in chunks if you want to touch up. Also, I found the product dries up really quickly within in the pen too, causing me to have to push the product out of the tip with my nails rather than just simply clicking the base.

image (22)

image (23)

image (24)

The best thing about this product is the ability to create a flawless wing. I always wear winged eyeliner and the pointy nib makes it easy to create a line that you can easily connect to the rest of your liner.

Overall, I think this is a nice product but it really doesn’t deserve the hype it’s been getting. I think it’s mainly due to Benefits clever promotion tactics as well how amazing and well known its partner mascara is. I would give this product a 3.5 out of 5, as the price (£18.50!) is a bit steep considering my Rimmel Glam Eyes liquid liner (£5.29) is just as good! What do you guys think? What’s your favourite liquid liner?

One thought on “Benefit They’re Real! eyeliner review!

  1. Pingback: The Magic of Benefit Magic Ink Eyeliner | Rachel Williams

Leave a Reply

