Eating at Cardiff’s best Italian – Giovanni’s 

Last night, my boyfriend and I went out to celebrate our 4 year anniversary. We decided to go somewhere that we hadn’t tried before, which is quite a task for us as we’re both massive foodies and have been to probably every restaurant in Cardiff. 


So my boyfriend surprised me by booking a table at Giovanni’s as my dad has raved about this place and we’ve always been meaning to go there. I was so happy!


The restaurant itself is quite small with two floors, and has a very homly and welcoming feel to it. We were greeted at the door and taken to our table straight away. The restaurant is decorated to give an Italian feel, with pictures of the coliseum and other famous Italian land marks. Adorned all over the walls are pictures of the restaurants owner with all the celebrities that have visited there, giving the impression that this is a very proud restaurant. Most of the waiting staff here are also Italian which added to the authenticity of the place. 



We started with a glass of prosecco for me, and a bottle of bud for Dave.



For my starter, I ordered the Insalata Caprese, which was tomato with buffalo mozzerla, olive oil and herbs. I couldn’t believe how something so simple could be so tasty! 


My boyfriend opted for the Calamari Fritti, deep fried squid. 


For my main I ordered the Alla Marinara. This was a seafood pasta, consisting of prawns, clams, muscles and squid, all tossed in a tomato and garlic sauce. We were of course offered Parmesan by the staff, in true Italian style! This is, by far, the best Italian dish I’ve ever had in a restaurant. The pasta was loaded with seafood which is a pleasant change from the skimpy portions found in chain resturants! It was cooked to absolute perfection, and I was so disappointed that I couldn’t finish the whole plate. 


My boyfriend opted for the Vitello alla Giovanni, veal with mushrooms and bacon. 


Of corse we had some cheesey garlic bread too! 


While I opted for no desserts, my boyfriend had a pistachio ice cream which he really enjoyed! 


Overall, I was so impressed with the the food, the atmosphere and the service in this restaurant that I felt I had to write about it. I will definitely be visiting again as this is by far the best Italian in Cardiff, and I urge you too if you get the chance! 

Leave a Reply

